Wettbewerbsfilme

Der internationale Kurzfilmwettbewerb “Weimarer Poetryfilmpreis” erhielt in diesem Jahr 470 Einsendungen aus über 50 Ländern. Die Programmkommission hat davon 24 Kurzfilme nominiert. Die internationale Jury, bestehend aus Kathrin Tillmanns, Jan Volker Röhnert und Helmie Stil, vergibt die beiden mit je 1000 Euro dotierten Hauptpreise für den besten Animationsfilm und den besten Realfilm. Das Publikum erhält die Möglichkeit, seine Stimme online abzugeben.

Fernsehen

Regie & Text: Elena Kaufmann

Deutschland 2020, 1:52 min

 “fernsehen” ist ein poetischer Essay über Dauer und Nähe, Entwurzelung und Gewohnheit. Dank an Pauline Weh für ihre in Antwort auf den Gedichttext entstandene musikalische Komposition.    

To Do

Animation: Mark Scott, Steven Bönnemann

Text: Rike Scheffler

Deutschland 2019, 0:47 min

„To Do“ versteht sich als freie visuelle Interpretation der einzelnen Verse des Gedichts von Rike Scheffler. Raum, Zeit und Gedanken werden nichtig, wohingegen das Auge durch eine abstrakte Welt, ohne Regeln oder Orientierungspunkte, geführt wird.

Big Boy

Regie & Text: Jonathan Phanhsay-Chamson

Frankreich 2018, 4:45 min

Eine Erlösungsskizze für einen Mann, der aufwächst und seine erste Darstellung der Welt durch Poesie dekonstruiert.

Fable

Animation: Žanete Skarule

Text: Jackson Holbert

Lettland 2019, 2:55 min

Diese spielerische Traumsequenz, die auf einem Gedicht von Jackson Hubert basiert, dreht sich um die zenbuddhistische Idee des „Gewinnens durch Loslassen“. Der sich ständig verändernde Maßstab der Objekte spielt mit der Perspektive des Betrachters, die an die Relativität von allem um uns herum erinnert – man ist Schöpfer und das Geschaffene gleichzeitig.

Life as We Covid

Regie & Text: Kathy O Lofton

USA 2020, 2:00 min

“Life as We COVID” ist eine thematische Zusammenfassung der Poesie und visualisiert symbolisch die Besorgnis und die implizite Sterblichkeit eines älteren afroamerikanischen Mannes inmitten der COVID-19-Pandemie.

What if?

Regien; Simon Daniels

Text: Stephen James Smith

Irland 2019, 5:00 min

‘What If?’ (Was, wenn?) ist ein kurzer Spoken word-Poetryfilm geschrieben von Stephen James Smith & gedreht von Simon Daniels.

Der Film zeigt die verborgene Notlage junger Menschen, die die Hauptlast der Instabilität und Obdachlosigkeit von Wohnungen tragen. Der Dichter Stephen James Smith sprach in seiner Forschung direkt mit jungen Menschen, die mit Wohnungsproblemen und Obdachlosigkeit zu kämpfen haben. Ihre Erfahrungen und ihre ihm übermittelten Worte sind Teil des Monologs des Gedichts.

‘What If?’ war das Herzstück der Kampagne „Couches Don’t Count“ von Focus Ireland aus dem Jahr 2019 für #EndYouthHomelessness.

The Fish Prince

Regie & Text: Shifra Osorio Whewell

die Niederlande 2020, 6:16 min

Ein Film über einen Fischprinzen, der in einem Heringspaket eines Supermarkts gefangen ist. Fish bietet der Protagonistin des Lebensmitteleinkäufers gerne Wünsche an. Doch wird die empörende Gier der Konsumenten sie zu weit treiben? Ein Chor weinender, zwiebelhackender Supermarktmitarbeiter sieht zu, wie sich diese märchenhafte Traumsequenz zu einer rasanten Poesieerzählung entfaltet.

A Concrete Song

Regie: Dave Tynan

Text: Oona Doherty

Irland 2017, 2:30 min

Ein Kurzfilm unter der Regie von Dave Tynan, mit den Worten und der Choreografie von Oona Doerty. In ihren Worten wollten wir einen Film machen, der “die zerbrochenen Erinnerungen an meine Jugend in Nordirland in ein neonhelles Gebet bündelt“.

Homeless

Regie: Josta Hopps

Texts: Sulaiman Bangura; Yousef Kamara; Kassasongu Mbriwa; Kabineh Kabba; Destiny Dumbuya; Mozis Rozis; Francess Kamara; Wilfred Cole; Tejan Koroma; Rashid Justice Kamara; Alhaji Kondeh; Milton Kanu; Francis Sannoh; Ibrahim Bangura; Michael Kamara; Elijah Kuyateh; Mohamed Kamara

Sierra Leone 2020, 4:30 min

17 Straßenjugendliche aus Sierra Leone schrieben jeweils fünf Gedichtzeilen über Obdachlosigkeit, die zu einem Langgedicht mit dem Titel „Homeless” (Obdachlos) zusammengefasst wurden. Alle Teilnehmer schreiben Gedichte, wurden in „Written Off“ und „Street Rhymes“, Anthologien von Gedichten von Straßenjugendlichen, oder online veröffentlicht und live aufgeführt. Josta mochte das fertige Gedicht und wollte einen Film daraus machen – was Sie sehen. Er filmte mit den Dichtern, die zeigten, wo sie schlafen und wie sie Schutzräume bauen oder Pappe sammeln, auf der sie schlafen können. Mit einer Canon 70D aufgenommen und auf FCP bearbeitet.

Liquid Traits of an Image Apparatus

Regie: Vera Sebert

Österreich 2019, 7:22 min

Abstrakte Maschinencodes erscheinen auf der Oberfläche des Bildschirms als Abbildungen, die von Menschen gelesen werden können. Visualisierte maschinelle Handlungsanweisungen bilden eine eigene Semantik und Grundlage für menschliche Handlungsanweisungen. Auf der Kinoleinwand wird dieses Bild von seiner Bedeutung entkoppelt. Es kondensiert am Bildträger und schwappt ins Auge.

Die assoziative Montage minimalistischer Nutzeroberflächen verläuft wie ein wucherndes Konstrukt entlang der filmischen Zeitachse. Die eigene Körperlichkeit im Wahrnehmungsprozess und die medial bedingte Lesart sind Protagonisten in einem Film ohne Narrativ.

 

Pao Pae

Animation & Text: Bruno Quast

Italien 2019, 4:03 min

Eine eindringliche Erinnerung reiste ans Meer, um sich auszuruhen. Dies ist ein Geschenk.

Ode to R

Regie & Text: Lory Fuchs, Sebastian Torres

Mexiko 2019, 7:45 min

“Ode to R” (Ode an das R) ist ein Gedicht, das durch die Musikalität der Worte spaziert und die Essenz ihrer Seele analysiert, um die Geräusche, die Natur und die Erfahrung des Erdbebens zu beschreiben, das Mexiko-Stadt am 19. September 2017 erschütterte.

I see the abyss

Animation & Text: Karolina Kajetanowicz

Polen 2020, 4:20 min

Ein visuelles Gedicht über das Leben und das Gegenteil zu wollen, inspiriert von der Arbeit des polnischen Dichters Bolesław Leśmian. Ein Mann führt seinen Hund in den dunklen Wald. Gedanken und Empfindungen wirbeln in ihren Köpfen, aber sie können sie nicht kommunizieren. Sie gehen zusammen und bleiben doch vereinzelt.

 

A shovel and a trowel

Regie: Andra Tarara

Rumänien 2019, 4:26 min

Ein Videogedicht gemacht aus VHS-Material eines Familienarchivs, kommunistischen Postern und Liedtexten, aktuellen beobachtenden Filmaufnahmen und Fernsehnachrichten. Eine Reflexion über das Bild des Arbeiters und über Arbeitsbedingungen damals und heute.

Entre Les Images

Regie & Text: Vito A. Rowlands

Co-Production Belgien, U.S.A., 2020, 3:43 min

Eine junge Frau beklagt den Verlust ihrer Unschuld und trauert um ihren Geliebten, als Europa im Sommer 1914 vom Krieg heimgesucht wird. “Entre Les Images” ist ein Found Footage-Film, der aus konservierten 35-mm-Nitrat-Filmrahmen aus über 100 Stummfilmen besteht, eine große Anzahl von ihnen sind unwiderruflich verloren oder nur teilweise erhalten, ohne dass etwas  außerhalb dieser wenigen erhabenen Aufnahmen auf sie hinweist. Insgesamt repräsentieren sie die Hoffnungen, Träume und Versprechen turbulenter Zeiten, die ihre Narben auf den Trägern hinterlassen haben und Leben und Tod zwischen jedem Bild verewigen. Wenn diese Einzelbilder wieder in Bewegung gesetzt werden, entsteht zwischen ihnen neue Bedeutung.

der und die

Animation: Peter Böving

Text: Ernst Jandl

Deutschland 2019, 9:35 min

Ein Liebesgedicht von Ernst Jandl ist die Grundlage für ein musikalisches `Tête-à-tête` zwischen einer Dresdnerin und einem Marsmenschen. In einem Mietwagen kommt es schnell zu einer rauschenden Liebesszene, die im Umfeld einer gewalttätigen Montagsdemo im völligen Chaos endet.

No More

Regie: Maia Watkins, Raphael Blake

Text: Maia Watkins

“No More” ist ein Spoken Word Film, der meine Erfahrungen und die tatsächlichen Auswirkungen von Messergewalt unter unseren jungen Menschen, die in London aufwachsen, untersucht.

 

fine China

Regie: David Gaines, Ruby Johnston

Text: David Gaines

Ein Mann schaut auf den feinen Porzellanschrank seiner Großmutter und denkt über seine patriarchalischen Prägungen.

 

 

Urgent Manifest

Regie: Moisés Santana Filho

Text: Talita Feuser

Brasilien 2019, 5:00 min

“Urgent Manifesto “ (Das dringende Manifest) ist ein Aufruf zum Leben, hier ist es jetzt, eine Provokation über die Zeit und ihre Endlichkeit – wo wohnt das Unendliche, wenn nicht in der Unermesslichkeit eines Augenblicks? Eine Einladung, uns von den Ketten zu befreien, die uns auferlegt wurden, Vergangenheit, Ausreden, Ängste und in das Leben einzutauchen, während wir darin sind.

 

Uncertain Expanses

Animation: Cecilia Traslaviña

Text: Lina X. Aguirre

Kolumbien 2020, 1:18 min

This film is an attempt to capture the sensations caused by reading the poem Uncertain Expanses from the book „Sordera de las nieves/The Deafness of Snow“, written by Colombian poet Lina X. Aguirre. The sand on glass animation tries to evoke the materiality of an uncertain geography. 

Schneestaub

Regie: Bettina Kuntzsch

Text: Kathrin Schmidt

Deutschland 2020, 6:30 min

Schnee, Filmstaub, Partikel.
Verschleiß, Beschädigung und Auflösung eines Films im Projektor – einer alten Laterna Magica.
Winterszenen – animiertes Fundmaterial aus der Zeit um 1900 und
Computeranimationen – zusammengestellt zu einem Gedicht von Kathrin Schmidt.
Zusätzliche Geräusche, die mit Filmresten und der Laterna Magica erzeugt werden.

Inhale

Animation: Diek Grobler

Text: Carina van der Walt

Seit dem durch COVID 19 bewirkten Lockdown haben Regisseur Diek Grobler und sein Team als Reaktion auf die globale Pandemie an einer Reihe von Animationsfilmen gearbeitet. In diesem Poesiefilm mit dem Gedicht von Carina van der Walt versuchen wir, Bild, Ton und Text zu verschmelzen, um die Möglichkeit einer engeren Symbiose zwischen Film und Text im animierten Poesiefilm zu erforschen. Durch Klang, Musik, abstrakte Form und Bewegung will der Film die Spannung widerspiegeln, die sich aus Unsicherheit und Angst vor der Pandemie ergibt.

 

Notizen aus dem Unterbewusstsein 

Animation & Text: Susann Arnold

Deutschland 2018, 3:37 min

Ein Film über das Innenleben der ostdeutschen „Wendegeneration“ (1990), dem Mangel einer sicheren Vergangenheit, der von sich immer erneuernden Brüchen erzählt und der Suche nach dem eigenen Platz in der Welt. 

Idle Worship

Regie: Ariel Casimiro

Text: Jaliya The Bird

Angola 2019, 4:09 min

Dieser Film nimmt Sie mit auf die Reise des Erwachens einer Frau. Es ist eine visuelle Darstellung, die darauf abzielt, Frauen zu zeigen und zu symbolisieren, die in eine Weiblichkeit eintreten, die nicht auf der Grundlage von Missbrauch (physisch, sexuell, emotional) aufgebaut ist. Am Ende sehen wir eine stehende Frau, die sich im Licht wärmt, frei von der Last in einer bedrückenden Weiblichkeit zu existieren.

Official Selection

This year, the international short film competition “Weimar Poetry Film Award” received 470 entries from over 50 countries. The program committee nominated 24 of these short films. The international jury, consisting of Kathrin Tillmanns, Jan-Volker Röhnert, and Helmie Stil, will award the two main prizes of 1000 Euro each for the best animated film and the best live-action film. The audience will have the opportunity to cast its vote online.

fernsehen

Director & Author: Elena Kaufmann

Germany 2020, 1:52 min

Produced in April 2020, “fernsehen” is a poetic essay on duration and intimacy, rootlessness and habit. Thanks to Pauline Weh for supporting the project with a musical composition based on the original poem. 

To Do

Animators: Mark Scott, Steven Bönnemann

Author: Rike Scheffler

Germany 2019, 0:47 min

“To Do” understands itself as a free visual interpretation of the individual lines of Rike Scheffler’s poem. Space, time and thoughts become unimportant, whereas the eye is guided through an abstract world, without rules or points of orientation.

 

Big Boy

Director & Author: Jonathan Phanhsay-Chamson

France 2018, 4:45 min

A sketch of redemption for a man who grows up and deconstructs his first depiction of the world through poetry.

 

Fable

Animator: Žanete Skarule

Author: Jackson Holbert

Latvia 2019, 2:55 min

This playful dreamy sequence, based on a poem by Jackson Hubert, is set around the Zenbudhistic idea of “gaining by letting go .” The ever-changing scale of the objects plays with the viewer’s perspective reminding of the relativity of everything around us – one is the creator and the one being created at the same time.

 

Life as We Covid

Director & Author: Kathy O Lofton

USA 2020, 2:00 min

“Life as We COVID” is a thematic abstract as poetry and visualizes the concern and implied mortality of a confined elderly African American man amid the COVID-19 pandemic.

 

What if?

Director: Simon Daniels

Author: Stephen James Smith

Ireland 2019, 5:00 min

‘What If?’ is a short spoken word poetry film written by Stephen James Smith & Directed by Simon Daniels

 The film charts the hidden plight of young people who bear the brunt of housing instability and homelessness. Poet Stephen James Smith in his research spoke directly to young people who are struggling with housing issues & homelessness. Their experiences and their words as relayed to him form part of the poem’s monologue.

‘What if? was the centerpiece of Focus Ireland’s 2019 campaign ‘Couches Don’t Count’ to #EndYouthHomelessness.

 

The Fish Prince

Director & Author: Shifra Osorio Whewell

The Netherlands 2020, 6:16 min

A film about a Fish Prince trapped in a supermarket herring package. Fish gladly offers wishes to the protagonist, the grocery shopper. But will outrageous consumerist greed push her too far? A chorus of weeping, onion chopping supermarket employees watch on as this fairy tale dream sequence unfolds to a fast-paced poetry narration.

 

A Concrete Song

Director: Dave Tynan

Author: Oona Doherty

Ireland 2017, 2:30 min

A short film directed by Dave Tynan featuring the words and choreography of Oona Doerty. In her words, we wanted to make a film that “abstracts the broken memories of my youth of Northern Ireland into a neon-bright prayer.”

Homeless

Director: Josta Hopps

Authors: Sulaiman Bangura; Yousef Kamara; Kassasongu Mbriwa; Kabineh Kabba; Destiny Dumbuya; Mozis Rozis; Francess Kamara; Wilfred Cole; Tejan Koroma; Rashid Justice Kamara; Alhaji Kondeh; Milton Kanu; Francis Sannoh; Ibrahim Bangura; Michael Kamara; Elijah Kuyateh; Mohamed Kamara

Sierra Leone 2020, 4:30 min

17 street youth from Sierra Leone each wrote five lines of poetry about homelessness, which were brought together to make one long poem called ‘Homeless.’ All those taking part are practicing poetry have been published in ‘Written Off,’ and ‘Street Rhymes,’ compilations of poems by street youth and have been published online and performed live. Josta liked the finished poem and wanted to make a film of it- which is what you see. He filmed with the poets showing where they sleep and how they make shelters or collect cardboard to sleep on. Shot on a Canon 70D and edited on FCP.

 

Liquid Traits of an Image Apparatus

Director: Vera Sebert

Austria 2019, 7:22 min

On the screen’s digital surface, abstract machine codes appear as images, readable by humans. Visualized machine instructions make up their own semantics and are base for human instructions. On a cinema screen, these images are detached from their initial meaning. They condense on the picture base and swash into our eyes. Like a random rhizome structure, an associative montage of minimalistic user interfaces follows the film’s timeline. Our body perception and our interpretation formed by media conditions become protagonists in a film without narrative.

 

Pao Pae

Animator & Author: Bruno Quast

Italy 2019, 4:03 min

A haunting memory traveled to the sea to find rest. This is a gift.

 

Ode to R

Directors & Authors: Lory Fuchs, Sebastian Torres

Mexiko 2019, 7:45 min

“Ode to R” (Oda a la R) is a poem that maunders through the musicality of words, analyzing the essence of their very soul in order to spell out the sounds, nature and experience of the earthquake that shook Mexico City on 19th September 2017.

I see the abyss

Animator & Author: Karolina Kajetanowicz

Poland 2020, 4:20 min

Inspired by the work of a polish poet Bolesław Leśmian visual poem about being alive and wanting the opposite. A man walks his dog into the dark forest. Thoughts and sensations are swirling in their heads, but they are unable to communicate them. They walk together yet isolated.

A shovel and a trowel

Director: Andra Tarara

Romania 2019, 4:26 min


A video poem made of VHS family archive footage, communist posters and lyrics, present-day observational footage, and TV news. A reflection on the image of the worker and the working conditions then and now.

 

Entre Les Images

Director & Author: Vito A. Rowlands

Co-production Belgium, U.S.A. 2020, 3:43 min

A young woman laments the loss of her innocence and mourns her lover as Europe is ravaged by war in the summer of 1914.  “Entre Les Images” is a found footage film composed of preserved 35mm nitrate film frames from over 100 silent films, a large number of them irrevocably lost or only partially preserved, with nothing to mark their presence outside these majestic few frames. As a whole, they represent the hopes, dreams, and promises of tumultuous times that left their scars on its media, perpetuating life and death between every frame. Putting these frames back into motion creates new meaning between them.

der und die

Animator: Peter Böving

Author: Ernst Jandl

Germany 2019, 9:35 min

A love poem by Ernst Jandl is the basis for a musical `Tête-à-tête` between a woman from Dresden and a Martian. Quickly, a roaring love scene in a rental car, which ends in complete chaos caused by a violent Monday demonstration

 

No More

Directors: Maia Watkins, Raphael Blake

Author: Maia Watkins

UK 2019, 4:14 min

No More is a spoken word piece that explores my experiences and the real effects of knife violence amongst our young people growing up in London.

 

fine China

Director David Gaines, Ruby Johnston

Author: David Gaines

USA 2020, 3:25 min

​A man looks at his grandmother’s fine china cabinet and reflects on his patriarchal influences.

Urgent Manifest

Director: Moisés Santana Filho

Author: Talita Feuser

Brazil 2019, 5:00 min

Urgent Manifesto is a call to life, here it is now, a provocation about time and its finitude, – where does the infinite reside if not in the immensity of a moment? An invitation to free ourselves from the chains imposed by ourselves, past, excuses, fears, and immerse ourselves in life, while we are in it.

Uncertain Expanses

Animator: Cecilia Traslaviña

Author: Lina X. Aquirre

Colombia 2020, 1:18 min

This film is an attempt to capture the sensations caused by reading the poem Uncertain Expanses from the book “Sordera de las nieves/The Deafness of Snow”, written by Colombian poet Lina X. Aguirre. The sand on glass animation tries to evoke the materiality of an uncertain geography. 

Snow Dust

Director: Bettina Kuntzsch

Author: Kathrin Schmidt

Germany 2020, 6:30 min

Snow, film dust, particles.
Wear, damage to, and break-up of a film in the projector – of an old laterna magica.
Winter scenes – animated found footage from the period around 1900, and
computer animations – assembled to accompany a poem by Kathrin Schmidt.
Additional noises were generated using remnants of film and the laterna magica.

Inhale

Animator: Diek Grobler

Author: Carina van der Walt

South Africa 2020, 4:00 min

Since lockdown due to COVID 19, director Diek Grobler and team have been working on a series of animated films in response to the global pandemic. In this poetry-film, with text by Carina van der Walt, we seek to fuse image, sound and text to explore the possibility of tightening the symbiosis between film and text in animated poetry-film. Through sound, music, abstract form and movement the film aims to reflect the tension resulting from uncertainty and fear about the pandemic.

Subconscious Notes / Notizen aus dem Unterbewusstsein 

Animator & Author: Susann Arnold

Germany 2018, 3:37 min

A film about the inner life of the East German „Wendegeneration“ -the children that experienced 30 years ago the german reunion in 1990- the lack of a safe past, which tells of constantly renewing breaks and the search for one‘s own place in the world.

Idle Worship

Director: Ariel Casimiro

Author: Jaliya The Bird

Angola 2019, 4:09 min

This film takes you into the journey of a woman’s awakening; it is a visual representation that aims to cover and symbolize women stepping into a womanhood that is not built on the foundation of abuse (physical, sexual, emotional). In the end, we see a woman standing, basking in light, freedom from the burdens of existing through a womanhood that is oppressive.