Weltspiegel der Poesie

In unserem Programm „Weltspiegel der Poesie“ reisen wir in Sprüngen und Gegensätzen um den Globus, um etwas vom Zustand der Welt und ihrer Poesie einzufangen.

01-WorldMirror_LookAtUs

Look at Us (‘Schau uns an’)

Regie: Hussina Raja

Text: Farrah Chaudhry

Vereinigtes Königreich 2021, 3:59 min

Eine Hommage an die, die vor uns kamen, und an die pakistanische Diaspora, die angesichts von Not und Vorurteilen in ‘Groß’britannien resilient bleibt.

02-WorldMirror_Plandemic-Series

Plandemic Series

Regie & Text: Camila García

Kolumbien 2020, 4:34 min

Plandemic Series zeigt mit einer Spur dunklen Humors den Verlust individueller Freiheiten, die Infantilisierung der Gesellschaft und die irrationale Angst vor dem Tod, ausgelöst durch die Plandemic und gefördert durch die Medien, anders ausgedrückt: die Gewalt der hygienischen Diktatur.

03-WorldMirror_DoYouHearThoseCrows

Do You Hear Those Crows (‘Hörst Du die Krähen da’)

Regie: Ryen Goebel

Text: Dalton Day

USA 2021, 3:49 min

Inspiriert von einem Gedicht von Dalton Day, ist Do You Hear Those Crows eine Meditation über die Lebenszyklen, die die menschliche Erfahrung prägen. Mit Staunen erforscht der Film komplexe Emotionen, die in Naturgewalten zum Ausdruck kommen: Chaos und Ordnung, Wachstum und Zerfall.

04-WorldMirror_An-Intermediate

An Intermediate Guide to Roadkill (‘Überfahrene Tiere: Eine Anleitung für Lernende mit Vorkenntnissen’)

Regie: Sharmeen Sifar & Stephanie Chan 

Text:  Stephanie Chan

Singapur 2021, 9:54 min

An Intermediate Guide to Roadkill ist ein Poesiefilm, der vier Gedichte aus dem Gedichtband Roadkill For Beginners der singapurischen Spoken Word Dichterin Stephanie Chan lebendig werden lässt. Abwechselnd surreal und zart, befasst sich der Film mit urbaner Mythologie, dem Erwachsenwerden und der Klimaapokalypse vor dem Hintergrund einer sich schnell wandelnden Stadt.

05-WorldMirror_Larung

Larung

Regie: Agus Firmansyah

Text: Sihar Ramses Simatupang

Indonesien 2021, 9:57 min

Über eine Frau, die ihre beiden Eltern verloren hat. Sie hat Mühe, ihre Erinnerungen an die Vergangenheit, welche sie den ganzen Tag lang verfolgen, zu vergessen. Sie versucht, sich von den Erinnerungen durch ein Ritual, Batu Cadas Tunggal, zu befreien, aber die Macht dieser Erinnerungen ist ihr ganzes Leben lang stets gegenwärtig.

06-WorldMirror_IfIGoOut

If I Go Out Walking With My Dead Friends (Wenn ich mit meinen toten Freundinnen spazieren gehe)

Regie: Alkistis Kafetzi & Aleksandra Ćorović

Text: Rita Mboumi Pappa

Griechenland 2021, 5:22 min

Das Gedicht „If I go out walking with my dead friends“ (Wenn ich mit meinen toten Freundinnen spazieren gehe) ist Teil des Buches A thousand murdered girls (Tausend ermordete Mädchen), das 1964 veröffentlicht wurde. Das Buch enthält 65 Gedichte, jedes benannt nach einer Frau, die von den Nazis wegen Beteiligung am griechischen Widerstand zum Tode verurteilt wurde. „If I go out walking with my dead friends“ ist ein schlichtes Denkmal für die weiblichen Heldinnen, die in Pappas Lyrik erwähnt werden, aber auch für diejenigen, die heute für Freiheit und ein bessere Zukunft kämpfen.

07-AGlimpse

a glimpse from the gutter

Regie: Marie Craven

Text: Alejandra Pizarnik

Australien 2020, 3:25 min

Ein bilingualer Poesiefilm, gesprochen auf Spanisch und Englisch. Aus Árbol de Diana (Dianas Baum), Nr. 5, 16 und 23, der beliebten argentinischen Schriftstellerin Alejandra Pizarnik (1936-1972). Übersetzt und gesprochen von Dave Bonta und Jean Morris. Regie: Marie Craven. Eine Moving Poems Produktion.

08-WorldMirror_TheLowLight

The low light that gets in (‘Das schwache Licht, das reinkommt’)

Regie & Text: Alexandra Ballesteros

Mexico 2020, 9:10 min

„The low light that gets in“ wurde zu Beginn der COVID-19-Pandemie während der Quarantänezeit im Haus meiner Eltern in Merida, Yucatán, Mexiko geschaffen. Der Film stellt die Viszeralität der Veränderung und der Unsicherheit dar, die Wiederbegegnung mit meiner Familie und den damit einhergehenden Blick in die Vergangenheit.

World Mirror of Poetry

In our program „World mirror of poetry“ we are travelling around the globe in leaps and contradictions to capture a glimpse of the state of the world and its poetry.

01-WorldMirror_LookAtUs

Look at Us

Director: Hussina Raja

Author: Farrah Chaudhry

Great Britain 2021, 3:59 min

A homage to those who came before us, and to the Pakistani diaspora who remain resilient in the face of adversity and prejudice in ‘Great’ Britain.

 

02-WorldMirror_Plandemic-Series

Plandemic Series

Direction & Text: Camila García

Colombia 2020, 4:34 min

Plandemic Series shows with a hint of dark humor the loss of individual freedoms, the infantilizing of society and the irrational fear of death caused by the plandemic and stimulated by the media, in other words: the violence of the sanitary dictatorship.

03-WorldMirror_DoYouHearThoseCrows

Do You Hear Those Crows

Direction: Ryen Goebel

Text: Dalton Day

USA 2021, 3:49 min

Inspired by a poem from Dalton Day, Do You Hear Those Crows is a meditation on the cycles of life which shape the human experience. With a sense of wonder, the film explores the complex emotions revealed in natural forces: chaos and order, growth and decay.

04-WorldMirror_An-Intermediate

An Intermediate Guide to Roadkill 

Direction: Sharmeen Sifar & Stephanie Chan 

Text:  Stephanie Chan

Singapur 2021, 9:54 min

An Intermediate Guide to Roadkill is a poetry film that brings to life four poems from the poetry collection Roadkill For Beginners by Singaporean spoken word poet Stephanie Chan. In turns surreal and tender, it explores urban mythology, growing up and the climate apocalypse against a backdrop of a rapidly changing city.

05-WorldMirror_Larung

Larung

Direction: Agus Firmansyah

Text: Sihar Ramses Simatupang

Indonesien 2021, 9:57 min

About a woman who lost both her parents. She continues to struggle to forget her past memories that haunt her life all day long. She tries to let go of her memories through a ritual ‘Batu Cadas Tunggal’, but the power of those memories is always there throughout her life.

06-WorldMirror_IfIGoOut

If I go out walking with my dead friends

Direction: Alkistis Kafetzi, Aleksandra Ćorović

Text: Rita Boumi-Pappas

Greece 2021, 5:22 min

The poem “If I go out walking with my dead friends” belongs to the book “A thousand murdered girls” which was published in 1964. The book consists of 65 poems, each named after a woman who was sentenced to death for participating in the Greek Resistance against the Nazis. “If I go out walking with my dead friends” is a humble memorial for the female heroines mentioned in Pappa’s lyrics but also for those who nowadays are fighting for freedom and for a better tomorrow.

07-AGlimpse

a glimpse from the gutter

Direction: Marie Craven

Text: Alejandra Pizarnik

Australia 2020, 3:25 min

A bilingual poetry film spoken in Spanish and English. From Árbol de Diana (‘Diana’s Tree’), No. 5, 16 and 23, by the well-loved Argentinian writer Alejandra Pizarnik (1936-1972). Translated and spoken by Dave Bonta and Jean Morris. Directed by Marie Craven. A Moving Poems production.

08-WorldMirror_TheLowLight

The low light that gets in

Direction & Text: Alexandra Ballesteros

Mexico 2020, 9:10 min

“The low light that gets in” was created at the beginning of the COVID-19 pandemic while being in quarantine at my parents’ house in Merida, Yucatán, Mexico. It expresses the viscerality of the change and the uncertainty, the re-encounter with my family and with it, the look into the past.